Dev blog #10 – Big developments

It’s been a really big week, and I’ve got a lot of plates spinning at once. Let’s take a look.

White Rabbit: Royal Scheduler is undergoing a name change (to secure an absolutely unique trademark, rather than the very generic ‘White Rabbit’), getting extra art done, and getting voice acting added in! All my team are working very hard to get it done asap so we can hand over to the company who will do translations and porting. When I say all my team, I mostly mean Rose who is back at it again with new pieces of ending artwork and a few other bits and pieces, and my friend Lauren who is doing all the sound engineering and a great deal of the coordination with the actors for me. Then I have a bunch of voice actors working on individual characters, and it is so exciting to hear everyone coming to life!

Prince of Cats is also undergoing a name change (for the same reasons), but is going to be done second for the porting and translation, so it’s not as much of a rush. I can’t remember if I’ve said this anywhere before, but Jade’s working hard away at turning all the backgrounds into 16:9 and other bits and pieces, and Lauren is also engineering and coordinating the voice acting with this one. Many more characters but smaller roles mean that the voice actors for this one have several roles, so they get to try lots of different voices. James and I have had a lot of fun recording our voices to add to this one šŸ˜€

Meanwhile, even with all that going on, we still have our grand Armageddon plans (it looks like the expo is going ahead! cross fingers!). As I mentioned last week, James has shifted focus to working on a small sample world guide to sell at Armageddon, so I’m working on formatting that, and we’re working with some new artists with more sort of typical Dungeons and Dragons styles for art and maps for that. But the other big plan is to run a massive drop-in campaign all weekend, where the players can affect the fate of a city under siege by siding either with the home side of silver dragons, or the bronze dragon invaders. Not only that but we’ll let people walk up and ‘pledge’ for either side – that’s all it takes, just saying ‘I pledge for the silver/the bronze’ – and you’ll get a faction sticker for doing that. I’m hoping we can sorta ‘go viral’ in a way, become something that people have to see at the convention. We’re still brainstorming whether we do some sort of giveaway e.g. recruit people to come and pledge and you earn points towards some actual personal reward. Marketing stuff like this does not come naturally to me but I am actually really excited about this.

I don’t see how things can get bigger over the next week but seeing how busy things got over the last week… who knows. I know I would like to streamline things into working on less at one time though, hahaha… I feel like all these three projects right now have hard deadlines or ends so at least there is that. One project at a time after that šŸ˜‰

… yeah, I’ll keep telling myself that…

Image from page 266 of “Science and literature in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance” (1878)

Leave a comment